18 Mar 2012
By Olninyo
Playstation Staff

Journey: Mechanics and Meaning

11 Replies 1,089 Views Created 18-03-2012

I wrote something on Journey for my blog because it moved me, but also because it used some methodologies I studied for my dissertation really really well. 

I would love to know what the community thinks and start some debate. 

very minor spoilers: 

http://www.thepixelcrush.com/2012/03/pixel-pilgrim.html

Please use plain text.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12 (1,089 Views)
0 Kudos
Level 6

Playstation Staff

Re: Journey: Mechanics and Meaning

A review should be detailed with good points and bad points. When the game was at pre-launch phase; the reviews all sounded good and really positive, including yours, so when I decided to play Journey  for myself, it gave me the overwhelming feeling of emptiness, where I didn't gain no emotion from it, nor a feeling of accomplishment. I didn't like the music on Journey cos' it cuts out at various points and it's all violins and hardly any guitar, piano or panpipes that was previously present in Flower's soundtrack. I found the scenery to be dull and lifeless, there's only one colour than dominates the whole picture and your view of the mountain is obstructed by ten feet tall structures either side. The puzzles required a few unnecessary retries with the buttons being more complicated than flowers; The multiplayer consists of nothing either; which certainly doesn't warrant the soul called terms and conditions at the beginning. This is a game where the good points are also it's downside. I was expecting a relaxing game and all I got was a puzzle game where you have to solve things in order to progress.

http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/69344 - Please sign

To PlayStation... Semper Fidelis
Please use plain text.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12 (1,054 Views)
0 Kudos
Level 3

Playstation Staff

LarasAider wrote: