How to delete Game Data and Saved Data on your PlayStation 3?
When playing a new PS3 game, two sections of data are created Game and Save Data.
You can access both of these under the 'Game' icon on the XMB:
Game Data Utility: This option stores any updates you make to your game. If you put the disc in and you are prompted to download the latest update for the game, it will be stored in this folder. If you are having an issue with the playback of a particular game, or the game update is not going through correctly, you can delete the Gama Data for the game (you will then be prompted to download the latest updates again when you next put the game in).
Saved Data Utility: This is where your progress in game is saved. If you delete the data for a particular game, when you next start the game you will have to start at the beginning. If you have any issues running a particular game (and have tried deleting the Game Data) you can try deleting the Saved Data as well.
NB. When going into the individual game date, you are also able to back this up before by copying it to a memory stick.
- Select a Language