06 Dec 2010
Beta Tester
Playstation Staff

Kung-Fu Live - Coming this week! (Review)

[ Edited ]
13 Replies 2,344 Views edited 06-12-2010

Kung-Fu Live

Sofa Sucker-punch, Dorito Dunk and Wheezing Wallop. These are just a small sampling of devastating moves taught through centuries of rigorous martial arts training, which you too will undertake when wanting to dispatch those nimble ninjas and putrid pirates. Mainly ninjas though. Actually, always ninjas.

And dogs.

See, for the past week I’ve been getting to (death)grips with Kung-Fu Live, a game like no other on the PlayStation Network. Rather than a combinations of O’s and X’s, you’re tasked with throwing punches and flinging kicks across you’re living room like a re-embodiment of Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan or Daniel Larusso…

The allure of motion control is the soul of this game and of course, it’s one of the most tiring things you’ll perform in this year. Those ‘martial arts’ moves I mentioned earlier are the ones I self-taught from the comfort of my sofa because frankly, even though I’m not particularly out of shape, within only a few minutes of regular moves I was huffing, puffing and sweating enough to warrant a shower or a sit down on the sofa. It’s the regular fare in regards to the motion controls with punches, kicks, leg sweeps and head-butts with extra points awarded for dodging enemy moves. You can even add a little extra flair to your moves with surprisingly simple movements. Want to do a backflip? Easy! Simply stand with your side facing the PSeye and fling your arms above your head for an easy yet elegant backflip perfect for catching out your foes. Need more flair? Just do the ‘Y’ from the YMCA and you’ll slow down time allowing for a frenzy of punches or better yet, pose like the praying mantis and you can shoot electricity from your palms like the infamous Cole MacGrath.

kungfu.jpg

kungfu2.jpg