28 Jan 2012

Playstation Staff
Accepted Solution

Whats wrong with my PS3?

6 Replies 297 Views Created 28-01-2012

So my 40gb fat ps3 started YLODing about 3 or 4 months ago. I bought it 2nd hand about 4yrs ago, its a 2007 model, so 5 yrs old. I've had lots of good use out of it and never had a problem until now.

Since im a noob when it comes to modding, I took it to someone offering YLOD repairs for a reasonable price. They opened it up and reapplied thermal paste, which is the common repair for this I believe. It worked again for maybe a week then it started turning off spontaneously (something it never did before). I took it back to the people who did the repair for me and they advised I went for a custom fan mod with an external dial to control the fan speed. I did this and have had nothing but grief since it got back. Not only is it YLODing regularly again but it seems to be turning off even more frequently now, Im lucky to get 5min straight play out of it at the moment. I understand that the fan is drawing power from the ps3 so having it set too high could be causing it to shut down because of lack of power to other parts; but I have tried it with the fan on every setting and no joy. The people who did the repair have given me a 6 month warranty so I will be taking it back there most likely but now I am paranoid that they have no idea what they are doing :/ 
I somehow doubt that the issue is actually overheating because I keep it in an open spaceous area, regularly dust it etc and its barely even running before shutting off. Should I demand my money back from these people?

Would appreciate some advice from anyone who knows about ps3 modding... Thanks in advance.

Please use plain text.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7 (297 Views)
0 Kudos
Level 11

Playstation Staff

Re: Whats wrong with my PS3?

The custom fan strikes me as a little pointless - the PS3 fans are perfectly ok, it's just that YLOD is an inherent problem with the older fat PS3 models.